Preview to Program 3
Henry Cowell: Inventor

Revel in the sonorities of Henry Cowell’s wild musical inventions. Experience this year’s commissioning project: an experimental collaboration between composer Eugene Birman and choreographer and San Francisco Ballet soloist, James Sofranko.  Inspired by Martha Graham’s legendary collaboration with Cowell and written for SFDanceworks and Third Sound, this premiere is sure to be unforgettable. The award-winning Telegraph Quartet ends the program with Cowell’s moving United Quartet.

Also, don't miss the preconcert interview with James Sofranko and Eugene Birman, April 7 at 7:30 pm.

Featured Artists:
Eugene Birman, composer in residence
Allegra Chapman, piano
Brett Conway, dancer
Sara LeMesh, soprano
Danielle Rowe, dancer
Joel Sachs, piano
James Sofranko, choreographer
William Winant, percussion

Telegraph Quartet:
Eric Chin and Joseph Maile, violins
Pei-Ling Lin, viola
Jeremiah Shaw, cello

Third Sound:
Patrick Castillo, director
Romie de Guise-Langlois, clarinet
Karen Kim, violin
Sooyun Kim, flute
Michael Nicolas, cello
Orion Weiss, piano


Eugene Birman: World Premiere - The Sound of Your Solitude and Mine. Choreographed by James Sofranko, in collaboration with SFDanceworks

Carl Ruggles (reconstructed by John Kirkpatrick): Mood, Prelude to an Imaginary Tragedy for violin and piano

Henry Cowell: 26 Simultaneous Mosaics for small ensemble

George Crumb: Apparition (selections) for soprano and piano

Cowell: FabricThe Banshee, Tiger, The Harp of Life for piano solo

Cowell: United Quartet

"an incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape"
—San Francisco Chronicle on Telegraph Quartet