• Noe Valley Ministry (map)
  • 1021 Sanchez Street
  • San Francisco, CA, 94114
  • United States

Program Three: Evolution and Persistence - Bacewicz and Her Legacy
8pm, Saturday, October 19

Hear Bacewicz’s most groundbreaking work written at the end of her life, including the Quartet for four cellos and the spectacularly virtuosic Four Caprices performed by Luosha Fang, recent winner of the Tokyo International Viola Competition. Then reach into the future to discover Bacewicz’s legacy as an inspiration for a generation of Polish women composers, including Hanna Kulenty, Marta Ptaszyńska, Agata Zubel, and others.


Agata Zubel: Cadenza

Alban Berg: 4 Pieces for Clarinet and Piano

Witold Lutosławski: Dance Preludes for clarinet and piano

Marta Ptaszyńska: Katarynka for glockenspiel

Witold Lutosławski and improv: “I don’t expect anyone today”

Grażyna Bacewicz: Quartet for four cellos; String Quartet No.  7; 4 Capricci for solo viola

Hannah Kulenty: Van for piano fourhands

Lidia Zielinska: Expandata for snare drum and tape