Third Sound small.jpg

Third Sound, ensemble

Sooyun Kim, flute
Romie de Guise-Langlois, clarinet
Karen Kim, violin
Michael Nicolas, cello
Orion Weiss, piano
Patrick Castillo, composer and director

Third Sound is a collective of virtuoso performers drawn from New York City's finest chamber musicians. The ensemble musicians–flautist Sooyun Kim, clarinetist Romie de Guise-Langlois, violinist Karen Kim, cellist Michael Nicolas, pianist Orion Weiss, and composer Patrick Castillo–have appeared on the most prestigious series and stages around the world and garnered myriad honors, including the Avery Fisher Career Grant, the Georg Solti Foundation Career Grant, and the Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance, among many others. Conceived from a desire to present the complete literature as a rich and dynamic continuum, Third Sound brings together an accomplished group of musicians equally skilled in – and equally passionate about – the work of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms as that of composers ranging from Schoenberg, Stravinsky, and Messiaen; Carter, Wuorinen, Adams, and Reich; to emerging composers of the early twenty-first century.

Third Sound made its debut in November 2015 at the Festival de Música Contemporánea de La Habana (Havana, Cuba), presenting a program of contemporary American music in partnership with the American Composers Forum. I Care If You Listen wrote of the ensemble’s festival performance, “Third Sound played with a level of commitment, joy, and ensemble cohesion that belies the short time they have worked together.” Michael Harrison, one of the composer participants in the ensemble’s Havana residency, wrote, “Third Sound is already one of the country’s best contemporary music ensembles ... For their debut concert at the Havana Contemporary Music Festival they selected an incredibly diverse range of ten works by leading American composers. Everything was executed with the kind of passion and precision that one only hears from the most experienced ensembles. Working with Third Sound is a composer’s dream!”

Learn more at Listen on SoundCloud.