Program Three
Henry Cowell: Inventor
8pm, Saturday, April 7

"an incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape"
—San Francisco Chronicle on Telegraph Quartet

Revel in the sonorities of Henry Cowell’s wild musical inventions. Experience this year’s commissioning project: an experimental collaboration between composer Eugene Birman and choreographer and San Francisco Ballet soloist, James Sofranko.  Inspired by Martha Graham’s legendary collaboration with Cowell and written for SFDanceworks and Third Sound, this premiere is sure to be unforgettable. The award-winning Telegraph Quartet ends the program with Cowell’s moving United Quartet.


Eugene Birman: World Premiere - The Sound of Your Solitude and Mine. Choreographed by James Sofranko, in collaboration with SFDanceworks

Carl Ruggles (reconstructed by John Kirkpatrick): Mood, Prelude to an Imaginary Tragedy for violin and piano                                   

Henry Cowell: 26 Simultaneous Mosaics for small ensemble

George Crumb: Apparition (selections) for soprano and piano

Cowell: FabricThe Banshee, Tiger, The Harp of Life for piano solo

Cowell: United Quartet